food for thought

An interesting quote I read today:

“It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”
-Jiddu Krishnamurti

Of course, basically anyone can make use of this quote, basing it on whatever their particular definition of “a profoundly sick society” is. For example, both liberals and conservatives can claim American society is profoundly sick, but for vastly different reasons.

Thinking about this quote brings to me the expression “rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic.” At what point are changes you’re making to try to improve your life merely cosmetic? If you change your behavior, but you’re still acting within the parameters of a broken system, does the change matter?

There are so many religions and self help books and organizations who claim to have “the” answer. If anyone of them truly had the singular ultimate answer, I’m sure most of us would have gone to it by now. But every day new blog posts, interviews, books, products come out, promising to “fix” your life. But do we really know what we are trying to “fix”? I’m reading a self help book right now (of course) that advocates fixing the underlying issue instead of just trying to obscure the symptoms. It sounds like good advice, but what, exactly, is the underlying issue we’re trying to treat?

A blog post I found while googling this quote looks at it from a Buddhist perspective. I need to write about this article in a separate post because I have a lot to say about it, and I need to take some time to put my thoughts in order. For now, I’ll just link to the post to let people read it for themselves.

Next time, I promise my post will have more of my own actual opinions, instead of just posing questions. Not that I think there is anything wrong with questions, but you ultimately I think only asking questions and not answering them doesn’t get you anywhere. As for pondering why an intellectual exercise such as this has to “get” you somewhere, I’ll leave that for another post as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

